Assistance for Queensland councils affected by Tropical Cyclone Debbie

Minister for Justice Michael Keenan and Queensland Minister for Police, Fire and Emergency Services Mark Ryan today announced additional disaster assistance in response to Tropical Cyclone Debbie.
Assistance is now available in twenty-seven (27) Queensland local government areas.
The assistance is being provided through the jointly-funded Commonwealth-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA).
Minister Keenan said even though the threat of Tropical Cyclone Debbie has passed, ongoing assessments have shown that Queensland communities need additional support to help with their immediate and long-term recovery efforts.
“Through the NDRRA, we can ensure that affected communities are able to recover from natural disasters as quickly as possible, including through the restoration of damaged infrastructure,” Mr Keenan said.
Minister Ryan said this additional assistance means that the local government areas of Banana, Central Highlands, Gympie, Ipswich, Moreton Bay, Noosa, North Burnett, Somerset and Sunshine Coast will have help with the costs of repairing damage to essential infrastructure as quickly as possible.
“Assistance for costs associated with protecting their communities has also been extended to the local government areas of Banana and Noosa Shire Councils,” Mr Ryan said.
Information on disaster assistance available for this natural disaster can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at and the Queensland Government’s Disaster management website at

Source Minister for Justice
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Counter Terrorism
The Hon Michael Keenan MP
Queensland Minister for Police, Fire and Emergency Services
Queensland Minister for Corrective Services
The Hon Mark Ryan MP

No comments

Surfers Paradise Goldy 2011-2018. Powered by Blogger.